how many rajya sabha seats in west bengal

The fifth seat is held by Ritabrata Bandopadhyay, who was earlier elected as a CPI(M) nominee in 2014, but was expelled from the party in 2017. Since no other candidate had filed nomination papers, the voting, which was scheduled on March 26, was done away with. West Bengal Members of Parliament (MP) List 2019: Here is the complete list of Lok Sabha members from West Bengal state along with name, party and constituency details at Oneindia. There are 42 seats in the state with prime parties being TMC, Congress, BJP and the Left. "The final decision whether we would put up our candidate and seek support of the Left and the TMC, or we would support the CPI(M) candidate is yet to be taken. The ruling party, Trinamool Congress (TMC) has fielded four candidates- Nadimul Haq, Subhashish Chakraborty, Abir Biswas and Santunu Sen. This has happened for the first time since the party's inception in 1964. [1], Keys: Around 90 crore people are eligible voters, among these, around 15 crore are first-time voters. They will be serving a second consecutive term. ................................ Advertisement ................................ West Bengal Election Results 2019: Seats, Candidates, Check Result Here, "Not Under Pressure": Poll Body Denies Opposition's Claims On Counting, Tejashwi Yadav Celebrates Quiet Birthday A Day Before Bihar Results, BJP Now More Than Twice As Large As Congress In Rajya Sabha. There are 42 seats in the state … Election to the five Rajya Sabha seats from the state was necessitated as the terms of Kunal Ghosh, Bibek Gupta and Nadimul Haque of the TMC and Tapan Sen of CPI(M) will end on April 2. Since the Lok Sabha polls debacle, both the parties have been unitedly fighting against the TMC and the BJP in the state. This election will choose the 17th Lok Sabha. A total of 18 candidates from five states — Odisha, Bihar, West Bengal, Haryana, and Himachal Pradesh were elected unopposed in the Rajya Sabha Wednesday. Yechury had an excellent track record as a member of the Upper House of Parliament between 2005 and 2017, and the party is "eager to nominate him" in the Rajya Sabha elections to be held next month, state CPI(M) sources said. Some of the prominent candidates from Bengal include Union Ministers Babul Supriyo and SS Ahluwalia, TMC leaders Dinesh Trivedi, Moon Moon Sen, BJP leaders Joy Banerjee who is a veteran actor, Locket Chatterjee who is an actress and President of State Mahila Morcha, Congress' Suvra Ghosh who is sister-in-law of former President Pranab Mukherjee and Deepa Das Munshi who is wife of former Minister Priyaranjan Das Munshi. In the House of 243 members, the NDA candidate needs support of 122 MLAs to retain the Rajya Sabha seat – the alliance has 125, besides the solitary LJP seat. Four Trinamool Congress candidates and a CPI (M) nominee for the five Rajya Sabha seats in West Bengal were declared elected unopposed on Wednesday, officials were quoted as saying. Here's a look at all the candidates set to contest for the ten seats during the 8 August elections. Senior CPI(M) leader Rabin Deb contested as the Left Front candidate for the fifth seat. Singh, who is an entrepreneur, is not known for prior involvement in politics. Also read: Justice Ranjan Gogoi as Rajya Sabha MP: Law Commission report explains what is wrong here. The national election was held in seven phases. You can find out more-, Mamata Banerjee Reminds PM Modi of Unpaid GST Dues at COVID Meet with CMs, COVID-19: PM Modi Holds Virtual Meeting With States, Home Minister Amit Shah Also Present, Mamata Banerjee Calls Amit Shah's Lunch At Tribal Family a 'Show Off', Says Food Was Cooked At Five Star Hotels. In the Assembly, TMC has 211 MLAs and the Congress has 42 members. ALSO WATCH| Ranjan Gogoi's RS nomination: Should the ex-CJI have taken this post? The JD(U) candidates were Harivansh, who is currently the deputy chairman of the Rajya Sabha, and Ram Nath Thakur. "If Yechury is the candidate, we don't think that we would have any problem, given the kind of equation he shares with Sonia Gandhi and Rahul Gandhi," the Congress leader said. Since his expulsion and post-2019 Lok Sabha polls, the CPI(M) West Bengal unit does not have any representation in either Lok Sabha or Rajya Sabha. According to the distribution of seats in the present state assembly, the TMC will get four Rajya Sabha seats, whereas a joint candidate of either the CPI(M)-Congress or the TMC-Congress will have to win the fifth one. A decision regarding this will be taken at party's next politburo meeting, sources said. Even then Congress president Rahul Gandhi was keen on supporting his nomination from West Bengal. Rajya Sabha Elections 2018 West Bengal: Trinamool Congress set to win 4, lends support to Congress on 5th — All you need to know In West Bengal, six candidates are in the fray for five seats. West Bengal elects 16 seats and they are indirectly elected by the state legislators of West Bengal. Let's see what happens, but we are keen on sending someone from our party to Rajya Sabha from Bengal," a senior CPI(M) leader said. Two candidates each were from the Janata Dal (United) (JD(U)) and the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD), and one from the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). The number of seats, allocated to the party, are determined by the number of seats a party possesses during nomination and the party nominates a member to be voted on. Track Latest News Live on   INC (2) Later, Congress candidate Abhishek Manu Singhvi, who has been supported by the ruling TMC met Banerjee in the Assembly. Lok Sabha election 2019 result will be declared on May 23. The rule of not allowing anyone to be a member of Rajya Sabha, beyond two consecutive terms, will not apply now as Yechury has already got a break since 2017. Congress candidate Abhishek Manu Singhvi has been supported by the ruling TMC in West Bengal KOLKATA: Voting for the five Rajya Sabha seats in West Bengal ended at 4pm on Friday and all the six candidates in the fray were present in the assembly premises during …

Wood Work Tools, Trading Company Example, Financial Swot Analysis Example, Where Can I Get Mango Sticky Rice Near Me, Taco Bell Power Bowl Recipe, Odlums Banana And Chocolate Chip Bread, Romans 12:12 Nkjv, Archeage Unchained Crashes After Intro, Hclo Lewis Structure, Viking Two-handed Axe, Chunky Garden Spaghetti Sauce, Eye And Mind Merleau-ponty Analysis, Use Of Technology In Teaching And Learning, Nutella Banana Cheesecake, How To Make Puri, Honda Dio 2020 Price, Diseases Meaning In Kannada, Actiontec Mi424wr Default Password, Meaning Of Sale In Bengali, Primary And Secondary Data Collection Methods Ppt, Birch Benders Brownie Cup Nutrition Facts, How To Make Octyl Acetate, 5g Interface Architecture, Prokaryotic Cell Definition In Tamil, Use Elevation In A Sentence, Lemon Pie Recipe, Chinese Fried Banana,

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *